Lake Michigan Obsession

I LOVE living in Michigan.  I’ve grown up in Michigan, and went to school in Michigan.  Some of my out-of-state friends were quite confused why I loved living in Michigan, especially those who were used to warmer climates for the winter.  Sadly, most of them never realized how beautiful Michigan is during the summer because as soon as it got nice and halfway through the spring they went back home.  I love the cool nights with a campfire, swimming in the lakes, camping out under the stars, ice cream outings, the list could go on for a while.

But every summer I try to make at least one trip to Lake Michigan.  Typically I go with my group of friends and we camp or just hang out at the beach for the day.  This year as August started approaching and I got busier I was afraid I might not make my trip to the lake this year.  Fortunately, I was able to make two trips this year: one with my parents and the next weekend with my friends.  I even got to climb to the top of a lighthouse this year!!

(A view from inside the lighthouse)

As always though these trips are too short.  I’m hoping that one day I might be able to visit more often or live closer to the lake so that I can walk along the beautiful beaches more than once a year.  Here are some of the photos I took while on my trips:

(The day at the beach with friends was quite busy.  Everyone loves the lake!)

(Friends doing jumps and flips in the lake.  Yay Lake Michigan!)

If you’ve never been to any of the great lakes, its hard to describe why the lakes are so mesmerizing.  Few other places in the world can boast of lakes so large they look like an ocean.  I’ve always loved the water so for me it’s like heaven.  Perhaps I’ll visit the lake again later in the fall, though I know it won’t be as warm for swimming until next year.  I’ve also heard that it’s amazingly beautiful when the lake is frozen too.  But until next year I’ll cherish the photos and memories of my beautiful trips to the lake.

~nestorakarts

One thought on “Lake Michigan Obsession

  1. Pingback: Adventures of An Angry Bird: Part 2 | nestorakarts

Leave a Reply

