The Next Big Project

I know I haven’t really written in a while, but I’ve been in the process of my next big project. This project is certainly one of the biggest things I’ve ever done (with perhaps the exception of my art show, which sort of spanned my four years of college and preparations most of my senior year.)


The next big project is a photo directory for my church. Right now the focus is all the main directory photos. We set up in the lounge (see above) and last weekend I spent almost ALL weekend taking pictures. Next weekend I finish the photoshoots and will begin edits after that.  I did a similar type of “photoshoot” before but this is certainly different. More people (who are actually paying for their photos) and trying to make sure everyone enjoys their photos.

Things went pretty well I would say, (and much faster during the shoots than I had originally anticipated) although with a directory situation you get A LOT of people who don’t like/don’t want their picture taken.  It can be a little disheartening, but I also realized through this that people are usually just too hard on themselves.  They don’t want to see what they look like.  And while some people have asked for edits such as wrinkles, blemishes, and gray hairs remove I will certainly do some of that, but only to a certain extent.  Others see them as flaws, I see some of it as character and who you are.  I don’t want to edit people until they don’t look like the same person, nor will I.  We are all made different and unique, even if that means a few flaws.  What if those “wrinkles” came from laugh lines?  That you’ve laughed enough in your lifetime to create permanent lines is certainly not something to be ashamed of.

Ok, I will leave my soapbox now, but try not to be so hard on yourselves about the way you look in pictures.  Sure, everyone will have some “unflattering pictures” (especially posed ones) though I found during the shoot that the people who were confident when they came in generally had the best pictures.  I’ll leave you with some of the setup and test-lighting photos from the night before the shoot.  (PS- These are minimal edits–just cropping–but also these are just for fun.)  And thanks to my friend for being my assistant/model for setting things up!

Not all of these are posed quite so nicely.  We also tried to catch each other off-guard when we took the pictures.

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Project

  1. Pingback: Christmastime: A Whirlwind of Busyness « nestorakarts

  2. Pingback: A Project Complete: Church Directory | nestorakarts

Leave a Reply

